There’s no getting around the need for auto insurance, especially if you’re an active driver in the state of Texas. Current laws make it mandatory for all drivers to carry a minimum amount of liability coverage whenever they’re behind the wheel. Having this coverage protects drivers in the event an accident occurs, and they’re found at fault. Insurance Discount Center specializes in offering insurance solutions to protect your life and livelihood, whether you need coverage for your home, business, or your family’s vehicles.
All Texas drivers are required to carry at least $30,000 of liability coverage for each injured person, as well as a minimal limit of $60,000 per accident. Drivers must also carry at least $25,000 in property damage coverage per accident. This basic level of coverage is commonly known as the 30/60/25 rule.
Keep in mind that liability insurance won’t pay for vehicle repairs or replacement, nor does it pay for your medical expenses or lost wages. For that, you’ll need additional coverage options specifically designed to deal with those issues:
- Collision – With this coverage, your insurance provider will pay for the cost of repairs to your vehicle or pay the actual cash value of your vehicle if it’s totaled.
- Comprehensive – This coverage pays for vehicle repairs or replacement if it’s stolen or damaged by events other than a vehicle collision.
- Medical Payments – Medical payments coverage takes care of you and your passengers’ medical and funeral bills regardless of fault.
- Personal Injury Protection – This coverage acts similarly to medical payments, but also covers 80 percent of your lost income and the costs of hiring a caregiver.
Need auto insurance for any of your vehicles? Get in touch with the experts at Insurance Discount Center today. Our seasoned agents can help you find the insurance coverage that’s right for your needs. Visit us or give us a call to receive your quote and get covered today.